Search News & Media

Sharemilker shines at awards

The South Taranaki's 2015 Youth to Work Awards is a Mayor's Taskforce for Jobs project designed to celebrate young people who are achieving in their workplace or training environment.


More than 200 people attended South Taranaki's 2015 Youth to Work Awards.

Held on Wednesday, October 21 at Hawera's TSB Hub, the Mayor's Task Force for Jobs project is designed to celebrate young people who are achieving in their workplace or training environment, as well as the businesses, education and training providers who support them.

South Taranaki Deputy Mayor Ian Armstrong said the third annual event was an inspiring occasion.

"Our local employers are the backbone of our economy and they need young people coming through to help make them and our district sustainable into the future,"  he said.

"These awards are a great opportunity not only to acknowledge and celebrate the achievements of our young people, but also the businesses and organisations who support them and offer them opportunities to thrive in South Taranaki."

The 2015 young achiever award went to coastal sharemilker Jayden Harvey. In 2014 it was awarded to Joshua Carr, Clippers Hawera.

There were 50 nominations for the three award categories with all nominees featuring in the below video titled South Taranaki – Alive with Opportunity. 


The judges acknowledged the high calibre of the nominees and the difficulty they had in selecting the winners.

Young Achiever Award:     

Winner:                       Jayden Harvey, Coastal Sharemilker

Joint Second Place:    Wade Maindonald, Excel Refrigeration

                                    Luke Williams, Silver Fern Farms Waitotara

Third Place:                 Bradley Pettett, Countdown Hawera


Employers Award:

Winner:                        Croucher and Crowder

Joint Second Place:    Silver Fern Farms Waitotara

                                    Taranaki Industrial Electrical Services

Third Place:                 Paetaia Dairy Company, Waitotara


Education and Training Provider Award: 

Winner:                        St John Hawera, Youth Division

Second Place:             Geoff Watt, Opunake High School Gateway Programme

Third Place:                 Belinda Price, Primary ITO


The major event sponsor was WITT, with Feats, PKW and Fonterra the category sponsors.  Outward Bound offered scholarships for the Young Achiever Category winner and place makers.