Community Recovery Programme

The Mayors Taskforce for Jobs has partnered with the Ministry of Social Development and developed the 'Community Recovery Programme' which provides up to $500,000 to 23 rural councils (population of 20,000 or less) with a national aim to get 1,150 young people or Covid displaced engaged in a sustainable employment pathway.   The focus is rural, as young people in rural New Zealand often face exacerbated challenges when entering into the labour force, these challenges include a lack of access to skill development pathways, driver licencing and testing facilities and a lack of access to employers.  The partnership is targeted towards supporting young people not in education, employment or training (NEET) or those who have been displaced due to the economic impacts of COVID-19.  

"The Mayors Taskforce for Jobs partnership is proving to be one of my most engaging roles as Mayor of the Grey District so far. It is a great opportunity to be able to engage with our employers and our young people in our district,” - Mayor Tania Gibson of Grey District Council. 

The partnership is changing the face of local government and reinforcing that councils, led by their mayors, are well placed and connected to their communities to facilitate local employment outcomes.  They have the boots on the ground, the local knowledge and expertise, to create solutions to the challenges that face their community.  Each council has a localised programme, which is unique to their own challenges and key industries.  Below is a video from Central Hawke's Bay District Council, who have created a mobile MTFJ Employment Hub by refurbishing an old camper-van to engage with the community to link youth with local jobs. 

The funding is flexible, which means that an individualised and local based approach is taken when supporting those young people into work. The council can provide a wage subsidy for the employer to take on a young person, cover the costs of training (including driver licencing), tool/boot subsidies and other incentives. All councils are working closely with the Ministry of Social Development, to ensure that there is no duplication of services or resource.

The following councils are participating in the programme:

  • Buller District Council
  • Carterton District Council
  • Central Hawke's Bay District Council
  • Chatham Islands Council
  • Clutha District Council
  • Gore District Council
  • Grey District Council
  • Hauraki District Council
  • Hurunui District Council
  • Kaikōura District Council
  • Kawerau District Council
  • Mackenzie District Council
  • Ōpōtiki District Council
  • Ōtorohanga District Council
  • Rangitīkei District Council
  • Ruapehu District Council
  • South Wairarapa District Council
  • Stratford District Council
  • Tararua District Council
  • Waimate District Council
  • Wairoa District Council
  • Waitomo District Council
  • Westland District Council

 If you live within the territorial authority of one of the councils listed above and are wanting or know of somebody looking for a job, please get in touch with Emma Anderson.


C: 021 199 1219