The Canterbury region is located on the east coast of the South Island of New Zealand and has a population of nearly 550,000. Canterbury is the largest region in New Zealand by area and is commonly divided into North, Mid and South Canterbury given its size. The climate is relatively comfortable all year round, with frosty winters and warm and dry summers. 

The region's economy mainly consists of Agriculture, Fishing, Forestry, Tourism and Energy Resources. 

The region consists of nine Territorial Authorities; Kaikoura District, Hurunui District, Waimakariri District, Christchurch City, Selwyn District, Ashburton District, Timaru District, Mackenzie District and the Waimate District.