The Otago region is located at the southern end of the South Island of New Zealand and has a population of around 200,000. The region is home to New Zealand's first university, University of Otago, which was founded in 1869. The region is well renowned for its award winning wines, and is regarded as some of the best wines the country produces. Typically, the region's climate is cool and wet, with snow common in the winter, and the summers quite the contrast with warm and dry conditions.

The region's economy mainly consists of Agriculture, Horticulture, Farming and Tourism.

The region consists of five Territorial Authorities; Waitaki District, Dunedin City, Queenstown Lakes District, Central Otago District and the Clutha District.