The Southland region is the southernmost region of New Zealand, located at the bottom of the South Island and has a population of nearly 100,000. The region's climate is cooler and wetter then the other areas of New Zealand due to its distance from the equator. 

The region's economy mainly consists of Agriculture, Farming, Fishing, Forestry and Energy.

The region consists of three Territorial Authorities; Gore District, Southland District and Invercargill City.