The Wellington region is located at the bottom of the North Island of New Zealand and has a population of around 480,000. The country's capital, Wellington, is located in the region, is home to much of the government sector given its central location. The climate is generally moderate all year round, with warm summers and wet and cold winters. 

The region's economy mainly consists of Public Administration, Science & Technology, Retail, Health Care and Education. 

The region consists of eight Territorial Authorities; Kapiti Coast District, Porirua City, Wellington City, Hutt City, Upper Hutt City, South Wairarapa District, Carterton District and the Masterton District.