West Coast

The West Coast region is located on the west coast of the South Island of New Zealand and has a population of around 34,000. The region is one of the most remote and sparsely populated in the country. The land is very scenic, with long rough coastlines, high mountains and a high proportion of native bush. The climate suffers from very heavy rainfall and is home to the only part of New Zealand where significant tracts of lowland forest remain.

The region's economy mainly consists of Mining, Foresty, Fishing, Tourism and Farming. 

The region consists of three Territorial Authorities; Buller District, Grey District and the Westland District.