MTFJ Governance

The Core Group:

The Mayors Taskforce for Jobs (MTFJ) governance group is called the Core Group. This group is made up of mayors from throughout the country who volunteer to oversee the organisation. The group meet quarterly in Wellington, as well as regular presentations to the respective Zone's to update the membership on the operations of the MTFJ.


Who is on the Core Group?

Max 3

Max Baxter
Chair, MTFJ
Mayor, Otorohanga District Council

Max was elected as Mayor of Otorohanga District Council in 2013, after he had already served three years as a Councillor.Max was appointed as Chair of MTFJ in 2017 following the MTFJ Annual General Meeting.

Max has been a dairy farmer his entire life, and owns and operates his farm which is situated just outside of Otorohanga. 




Malcolm 4

Malcolm Campbell

Deputy-Chair, MTFJ
Mayor, Kawerau District Council

Malcolm is into his 6th term as Mayor, holding the role since 2001. 

Along with his role as Mayor, Malcolm is also a Butcher and continues to work in his shop when not out with council business. 





Mayor Bryan Cadogan 2016 with chains WEB

Bryan Cadogan

Mayor, Clutha District Council 



Alex Walker Mayor

Alex Walker

Mayor, Central Hawkes Bay District Council



Andy Watson Mayor


Andy Watson

Mayor, Rangitikei District Council



Craig Little Mayor 203x300

Craig Little

Mayor, Wairoa District Council 



Mayor Craig Rowley 2

Craig Rowley

Mayor, Waimate District Council 



Darren Ludlow

Darren Ludlow

Darren Ludlow

Councillor, Invercargill City Council



Garry Howard Mayor

Garry Howard

Mayor, Buller District Council 



Jan Barns Mayor

Jan Barnes

Mayor, Matamata-Piako District Council



John Carter Mayor

John Carter

Mayor, Far North District Council 



John Forbes Mayor

John Forbes

Mayor, Ōpōtiki District Council 



Lyn Patterson Mayor

Lyn Patterson

Mayor, Masterton District Council 




Richard Hills Auckland

Richard Hills

Councillor, Auckland Council



sheryl Mai Mayor

Sheryl Mai

Mayor, Whangarei District Council



Steve Chadwick Mayor

Steve Chawick 

Mayor, Rotorua District Council



Tracey Collis

Tracey Collis

Mayor, Tararua District Council